Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
O.k, ladies, help me out here. This is to make sure that I have not become insanely petty or have become a total you know what (no, not talking peni, Jade!).

Do any of you out there know someone, anyone, who goes ballistic if you accidentally walk in front of the T.V. while he's playing a video game? Or acts like your mere presence completely obliterates the strategy and atmosphere while playing a game of Warhammer (for those of you who are not familiar with this game, it's a strategic one that's played on a kind of battlefield...kinda along the same lines of Dungeons and Dragons)?

Now, I can understand and somewhat appreciate the thought and strategy that goes into some of these games, but it really bothers me when people act like they're personally saving the frickin' world.

As you may have guessed I have currently experienced this gaming obssession and am completely bewildered by it. A friend of mine recently got an X-Box and he and several of his friends were playing it in his room.

These are just a few of the comments I get if I am within a 50 foot radius from it, usually said in a high pitched and panic induced scream:

"Step on that remote cord or your dead!"

"Get out of the way!!"

"Get the hell out of the way!"

"God!!"

"Gah!"

"I'm trying to play here!"

"Move it!"

"C'MON!"

These comments are usually followed with a long exasperated sigh that says he/she is trying to be tolerant with whatever distraction and doom that MAY head their way.

Warhammer is somewhat worse. Whenever I walk into the room they're playing in, it becomes really quiet and you can feel the "Go away. Go away. Go away." vibe. There are very few comments that are said with the exception of "Don't touch anything!" or "Don't lean on the table!"

I suppose the best way to describe it is a girl suddenly walking into a "boy only" club house complete with seven year old "this is mine, not yours" thinking intact.

I guess what bothers me the most about this kind of behavior is that it belittles the person they're yelling at and gives the impression that the game ranks higher than said person. Most of all, and on a personal note, I hate being talked to like a dog.

What do you guys think?

Amy

'til next time,

Playing Games
2:20 a.m. @ 2002-01-20

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare