Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Yes, I finally finished last week's question. It took me a long time to decide what I wanted to write, and how I wanted to write it. After all that, I'm not sure if it was worth waiting for. But, c'est la vie. Right?

Tell us a story. No rules or restrictions, just tell us a story about anything.Maybe about your earliest memory, or your favorite concert. Maybe why you loved/hated high school, or where you want to live when you grow up. Anything. Party on.

Someone told me that there was going to be a meteor shower. Maybe it was Ang. I don't remember anymore. But that night at one in the morning or so, I went into my back yard and stood on the porch with my face like a dinner plate to the sky, tilted upwards and lying flat. The sky was dancing. It was like a slow waltz. I loved the way it seemed to hold onto the meteor tails as they flew across.

I had the sudden realization that I did not want to see this alone. I walked back inside the house, cautiously, quietly. I tiptoed to the end of the hall. I opened my brother's door, and walked into his dark room.

My brother is a very deep sleeper. He has slept through earthquakes, fights, fire alarms, you name it. I stood over him and shook him for nearly a minute until I could glimpse his eyes blinking in awareness.

I explained that there was a meteor shower, and that he should come. His clean blue eyes turned to diamondlike slits and he growled "This better be good."

So first we went in the backyard. And it wasn't too happening back there anymore. So we went back in the house. David got his sweatshirt, I went to the front of the house and lay down on the sidewalk, so I wouldn't have a neck ache the next day from all of the strain. The ground was cold. Then the lightshow started again.

David came out and we watched. He would point where one had been, and I would turn my head just quickly enough to catch its trail, a memory of what it had been. Then we both lay on the hood of the car and watched, and talked.

Finally, when it seemed to have ended, we went inside and watched television for two hours. When David started to nod off, I pushed him up the stairs and into bed. When David remembers his childhood, I hope he remembers that night.

-Claire

'til next time,

My Story
5:07 p.m. @ 2002-02-11

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare