Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Another entry brought to you by Abnormal-

Disclaimer

The following is a no-holds-barred expressing of the opinion of one Normandy M. Read with caution, and don't come bitching to me about anything. You've been warned.

---------------------

First off, let me get straight to the point. There is nothing as simple as this: eliminate mankind, and things would be so much better. Now, how can I say this? What do I mean? Let me put it this way, on this planet tucked away in a far corner of the galaxy, the human population is running rampant. The human population is slowly, and steadily, choking out plants and animals alike. Not to mention, the humans are, as well, polluting not only the atmosphere but the oceans and lands as well. Truth be told, we�re like a disease that has been plaguing the blue planet called �Earth�.

Mankind has expanded its numbers too far. Or, what I am really trying to say with that statement is that mankind is spreading faster than evolution can keep up. As well, mankind is spreading faster than technology can keep up as well. Human breeding is stretching the limits here, folks. Let�s face it. How many times in your life have you seen television commercials asking you to call a number and donate as little as ten cents a day to help provide food and medical care for some poor, starving little boy or girl in an underdeveloped country? For me, it�s been way too many to even remember. Why do I bring this up? Take a look at it. These countries are not even well enough off on their own to provide for these children. Yet, people still continue to breed, bringing more and more children into the world.

Breeding needs to be stopped. Or, at the very least, regulated. I�m not talking about total extremes here, people, unless that is what needs to happen. But it�s a cold, hard fact that something must be done. Who hasn�t heard of stories about people bringing children into the world then abandoning them? Who hasn�t heard stories of parents with lots of children? It�s sickening. Just what, exactly, do these people think they are doing? Sure, you may abandon a child because you don�t want the child or because you cannot take care of the child or something, but why didn�t you just get an abortion in the first place? You�re helping nobody out by just abandoning someone. What about the people who want large families? Try becoming a foster parent. Or, become a hero to some child without parents and adopt. I, myself, was an adopted child. My birth mother just couldn�t take care of me, and she knew it. Rather than abandoning me, she put me up for adoption. I couldn�t be happier where I am now, and I, honestly, could care less whom the woman who brought me into the world was. I have no urge what so ever to meet with her or seek her out.

Let�s face it. We�re running out of places on Earth to live, and the atmosphere isn�t getting any better. As people bring more and more babies into the world, these babies will eventually grow up and need to provide for themselves. So what happens? We build. We build more buildings. We build more factories. We build, and build, and build. We cut down trees to make room for more things to build. We drain swamps, we dam rivers, all while not really looking for the long term affect this will have on the ecosystem that had thrived for hundreds, perhaps thousands, of years before we came and upset it just because we needed, or shall I say wanted, the space for ourselves. But what will happen when we run out of places to build at?

Take a look at the American Bison. This species is virtually extinct now because we decided we wanted it�s natural grasslands to expand westward. We uprooted the Native American populace just so we could move and build, move and build. The Dodo bird is all but extinct now because of the human race. We come and kill species that have been around and evolving longer than we have. The oceans are not nearly as clean as they once were. We drill into the Earth to extract coal and oil. We mine the mountains and deserts. We leave no stone unturned in our never-ending quest for expansion.

So where do I stand in all of this? Let me just say this� don�t be surprised if you hear that I don�t want any children of my own (i.e., natural). As well, don�t be surprised if you hear that I�ve had my tubes tied. Wait a minute, Normandy! Don�t you have a desire to have a child of your own? Don�t you want to pass your genes on to a next generation? To say no to this would be a boldfaced lie. Of course, I would love to have a biological child of my own. A child that I can, truly, say is part me. But then I stop to think. Normandy, Normandy, Normandy. What about all those parentless children out there? Those children in third world countries who have been brought into a world where they know of no hope? A world, where chances of death overshadows their chances of survival? Why not become heroes to one small child? Why not override your desire to have a child biologically yours and become the world for a child who, otherwise, might not know the true meaning of life? A child who may not have a chance to experience the wonders of living and the world?

Bottom line? If I want a child of my own, I�m going to adopt or become a foster parent. I�d rather try to do that little bit to help quell this surge than add to the problem. Let me reach out my hand and embrace one who needs it more.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

'til next time,

Take my hand...
3:48 p.m. @ 2002-05-14

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare