Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Nicole says:

In response to Sara's entry on girls and women and self respect, I have to say I agree. Just thinking about it for too long makes me furious.

I hate that there are so many girls and women who don't respect themselves and believe that their only value lies in what they look like and how many men they can attract.

Blarrrgh!

I certainly don't mean to generalize, because there are many notable exceptions, but the vast majority of teenage girls I've met seem to think that having sex makes you some sort of instant adult (just add water!) and proves that you can attract boys. (and we all know how hard it is to impress most adolescent boys...)

I waited until I was 21 to have sex, not so much because I attributed any magical maturity to that age but because I was in love, emotionally ready to handle it, and not being pressured.

I'm only 25 and yet I feel light years removed from very young teenagers who are forming "oral sex clubs" in the sixth grade. What the fuck is that all about!?! I was playing with my Cabbage Patch Kids dolls when I was 11 years old.

I pray that one day I can raise my own daughters to love and respect themselves.

Sorry to ramble on for so long.

Love you guys!

~Nicole

'til next time,

sex in the new millenium
2:34 p.m. @ 2002-03-13

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare