Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Nicole says:

Okay. I'll say this one thing about Alligators and then I promise to shut up about my beloved reptiles for the rest of my entry. Deal?

One of the hatchlings fell asleep on me, with it's head on my leg and it's warm little body lying across my hands. It was enchanting. I didn't move for my entire 1/2 hour break because I didn't want to disturb him.

Onto the body question. Yikes! Why is there so much pressure on women to be self-deprecating about our bodies? I don't feel that pressure from any of YOU guys, but it's out there.

Things I don't like about my body:

My thighs are not slim.

My stomach is not flat.

Things I love about my body:

Everything else. Really. I'm not stunningly gorgeous. I would never make it as a supermodel (even if I wasn't only five feet tall). My jeans never fit right because my waist is small but my hips aren't. (How annoying is that? If it fits my hips I've got like 4 inches sagging at the waist, and if it fits my waist, it's too damned tight around my hips! Arrrrrrrgh!)

But, you know what? So what!? My body is the current home to my soul. Everything that I am, a woman, a writer, an animal lover, a daughter, a friend...is all tied up and connected to this body, mind and soul of mine. And I could never hate any part of it.

I sometimes groan and think that I'm Quasimodo just because I'm not a size 2 with huge breasts, but most of the time I don't fall into that self-loathing trap. I hope I can somehow raise my own daughters to love their body for what it can do rather than what it looks like.

G'night. Sweet dreams!

'til next time,

Rambling
11:36 p.m. @ 2002-02-20

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare