Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
In your own opinion, what is the biggest mystery in the cosmos?

I'm not sure about the cosmos, but I do wonder about situations of deja vu, psychic moments, and reincarnation.

Nearing the end of my elementary school days, or whenever the Baz Lurhman version of Romeo & Juliet came out, I had a very strange dream. Three of my friends and I were sitting at a table when very suddenly they each, in turn, sang a line from a song on the Romeo & Juliet soundtrack. I recall them singing a certain lyric in a particular order distinctly.

A couple of months later, school was over and it was time for my birthday. I invited everyone for a party at Chuck E. Cheese's, where a kid can be a kid. Actually, we all felt a bit old to be there but happy to still enjoy it as children. The main focus was pizza, since we had all outgrown and outweighed the play areas (not including the arcade of course).

I sat down at a booth some time during the party with three of my female friends, noting curiously that we were seated in the same fashion as the dream. Sure enough, out of nowhere, my friend Ashley began her line from the song, then Michelle, and then Jenna exactly as I had dreamt! I looked around at them like they were crazy for reenacting my dream. If you've ever had a dream come completely true, you'll understand the impression it has.

+++

Around this same age, Michelle and I were invited to sleep over at Jenna's house. Michelle and Jenna were very close friends. The three of us were sleeping in sleeping bags on the pull-out bed in the den. In the middle of the night, I awoke from Michelle and Jenna rustling around in bed. I watched them both crawl out of their sleeping bags and begin to switch places. "What the hell are you guys doing?" I asked. Wordlessly, they had crept back into each other's sleeping bags as if they had been simultaneously sleepwalking. I watched them for several minutes afterwards for any signs of conversation. I know they hadn't spoken to each other about switching bags, and really there was no reason for them to do so. When they awoke that morning they asked each other, "Why are you in my sleeping bag?" and also noticed that they had switched places in the pull-out bed.

I could understand one of them in a sleepwalking state doing this, but both of them at the same time? Strange connection.

+++

Everyone feels creeped out when they experience a case of deja vu, right? Sometimes, you'll be doing something you swear you've done exactly before and ask, "Didn't I already do this?" Sometimes I wonder if someone or something out there is controlling the passage of time, rolling and rewinding it backwards if something weird or unfavorable happens. And even though we don't know what had happened in the "future," we still retain some vague memory of it.

Sometimes a particular motion or action will trigger deja vu. In these instances, I wonder if my soul is calling up something from a past life. This is a cruddy example but say if I was cutting logs and thought, "deja vu," maybe in a past life I had to split trees to build my own house or something. Never mind, sorry. :)

'til next time, Jade

Jade's Cosmic Mysteries
8:58 p.m. @ 2002-11-08

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare