Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Another entry brought to you by D-

Disclaimer- Yes, Norm�s stuck in writer�s mode. So, be forewarned. Not only is this a response to Molly�s last entry, it�s in letter form. From whose perspective? Well, you�ll just have to read and find out. And yes, Molly, I�d be more than happy to share you with Sar. I just won�t mention that in my response, since it�d be ungentlemanly of me. As well, there may be words used that I would never say in common, everyday life, but they where a major part of the language back in the time setting of this entry. Please don�t hold it against me.

Dearest Molly,

How I longed for a letter of response. Not a day goes by that I do not think about my beautiful bride to be. It helps make the days go by much swifter. How I miss you and everyone else. But, alas, �tis the price one pays for being a soldier. This winter has been long and cold� but Washington has kept us going. He has a way with people, you know. He has this knack for keeping our hopes and spirits from completely deserting us. Though, what I wouldn�t give to be free of Valley Forge and to be back in your loving arms.

Your letter brought realization into my dreary existence. Perhaps you�re right. If I have understood you correctly, you are saying that perhaps I should �look outside the box�. And you would be right. Sometimes, it just takes a different view to fully understand some things. Oh so often, we become too wrapped up in ourselves� in our troubles and worries� in our own disillusions to fully understand the ways of things. Sometimes, we just need to take a deep breath and step back, refocusing on what it is we�re looking at.

I can honestly say, I truly admire and respect you. Why, you may ask? Because you know that deep down, you have a huge respect for yourself. Alas, I do not know if I can say such a thing about myself at this time. What I do know, however, is that I am working my way there� working my way to a place where I can say I respect myself for who I am and for what I have done. Given, I have seen my fair share of battle, but that is all a part of the way some things are.

Sometimes I miss the easier days. The days of helping the negroes work the fields� the days of hunting and fishing with my fellow brothers to help provide food to put on the table� the days of a more carefree life. But I have made my decisions, and that is why I am here this very moment. I feel as if I have already lived through a lifetime and the aftermath. I have seen things I wish I never would have seen. While in battle, my best friend fell beside me� shot by a redcoat. That day, I realized how lucky I was to still be here.

Not to mention, there is nothing worse than hearing the thundering of horses charging straight towards you� then seeing the glint of a steely sword raised high into the air. I am talking about the charge of the British Green Dragoons. They have this commanding sense about them�they dictate fear. Words alone cannot fully, or accurately, describe the sensations� the mood� the aura that hangs around when they enter a battlefield. Each and every time, I run. I run for my life. �Tis better to run away and live to fight another day than to be fallen by the might of their steel. Yes, it may not be very noble of me, but it�s who I am.

I have heard rumours that they�re going to make me a Lieutenant and send me southward with some men to try and stop Cornwallis. Though, I do not know if they�re true or not. Part of me hopes they are� yet, the other part wishes that�s what they only where� rumours. To be given such a task� such an honour would be divine, yet I do not know if I�m capable of such a thing. Given, I have proven myself steadfast and trustworthy upon the battlefield many a time, but this� this would be different. Either way, my dear, you shall be the first to know if it is correct.

With a sad heart, I fear it is time for me to end my letter. Washington has called for me, and wishes to speak with me at this moment. Please give my love to my family, especially my father and mother, for I know they worry the most about me. Let them know I am well, and that I serve proudly. We will win this war of independence against the tyrannical British. We will prevail.

All my love,
Nathaniel

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

'til next time,

Echoes of words from another era...
10:52 a.m. @ 2002-01-25

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare