Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Another entry brought to you by D-

In response to Jade�s question:

WWII Combat Medic�s Armband- This item is simply a rectangular piece of white cloth with a red cross in the middle of it. It is an original, unissued, WWII armband, which was given to combat medics. This item is one of my most cherished, and it represents my love for WWII and combat medics during that time. Nobody could have been braver than these guys, for they constantly braved the bullets of D-Day to help fallen comrades. Plus, they were not issued weapons. Yet, they still were out there on the same battlefield as others, ducking and dodging bullets. What does this say about me? Probably that deep down, I wish I was as brave as those souls. I want to be able to face things with such unflinching bravery. I want to be able to stop worrying about petty things (like getting myself killed if I was a combat medic) and focus on much more important things (like the wounds of my fallen comrades if I was a medic). Plus, it symbolizes my devotion to the medical field. I will always carry the dream of being a combat medic or a doctor with me. I want to save lives, or do something useful with my life.

My picture of the oil that still slowly oozes out of the USS Arizona- I purchased this picture in an ebay auction. It�s hauntingly beautiful. The oil that still rises from the sunken USS Arizona looks eerily like rainbow tears, just floating there in the water. It�s definitely a stunning sight to see. I still get chills up and down my spine thinking about it. You could even consider the oil to be the tears of the crewmembers still entombed in their steel sarcophagus. One day, I would like to go there and see it in person. I would like to witness the powerful grip it can have over someone, I want to feel the aura that surrounds it. It�s a connection to the past, and an indirect connection to the horror that happened there that we overcame. It�s a memory, and a memorial to those fallen heroes whose lives were lost. It�s a symbol of what we can overcome, what we can do if we are knocked down. We climb back onto our feet and rally our troops, and we fight back, and we win.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

'til next time,

We will not forget...
11:43 a.m. @ 2002-03-08

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare