Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
top 20(ish) random good things by Pam:

1. when right after I joined bob Sarolei sent me a book off my wishlist! that was the best.

2. when I give free ice cream or pop (in little 7oz cups with no lid and a straw cut in half, or a long spoon) to little kids.

3. small talk with customers. believe it or not, these little interactions make my day (and probably lend a little light to theirs). you learn a little bit about the people who drive through. one woman was working her thirteenth twelve hour shift in a row at a gas station. another woman was starting a knitting class (I got her phone number because I want to join). another woman was going to help with a yard sale in the pouring rain. hmm strangely enough it seems to be only women I talk to. but I digress. the important thing about this poitn is that too often we forget that the people we see every day (Hundreds, sometimes thousands of them) each live lives as complicated and sad as we do, and sometimes it's nice to peek through a window into a few existences other than your own.

4. when a woman stopped me on the street the other day and told me I smelled wonderful.

5. smiling. the more you smile, the more people smile back at you.

6. randomly sending packages out. I love sending packages. Sarolei have you gotten yours yet?

7. (this list is very hard, just so everyone knows. probably why I'm the first one to do it!) the other day I was walking home from work and I saw my mom's car outside of the hair salon I live above. so even though I was tired and sweaty and greasy and smelled like fries and icky BO (I'd also worked out after work) I went in to visit her. she looked so happy to see me, and we chatted while she got her hair cut.

8. telling people that yes, we have the rabbit and eeyore toys now, after they have been waiting for weeks to buy them just to complete their collection of mcdonald's pooh bear toys (yes, I am a guilty party and I have all six!)

9. buying lunch for someone who has forgotten their wallet at home (have done this for coworkers a couple of times, it's always so appreciated)

10. whenever Shane or I (well, before this whole whatever thing we have been going through) used to go down to the dollar store or to Mac's (corner convenience store) to grab milk or whatever, we'd always pick up a little treat for the other person. such a nice little random gift.

Okay, I think I am done. These have been super hard!

'til next time, Pam

Pam's random nice things
6:46 p.m. @ 2002-06-07

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare