Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
Another entry brought to you by D-

All right, my turn to do this lil ditty. So, without further dragging out this little introduction, here's two things from each of my catergories and what they mean. (Or something like that.)

Things I am

-Hopelessly in love with the Navy -- All right. For as long as I can remember, I've always had this fascination with the military. Army.. Navy.. Air Force.. Marines. Ever since I was a youngster, I always saw myself as a soldier somewhere. As I grew older.. I began to realize that of all the branches of the military, the Navy was the one that captured my heart. I fell head over heels in love. In all honesty, I wish I was of the male gender. Why? Simple. The Navy has submarines. Of all the options of what I could do, there is nothing I'd love more than to become a member of the 'silent' service. (Well, there is something else I wouldn't mind doing, but that's another story). So in other words, I'll never outgrow my love for the branch of the military known as the Navy. Powerful ships... exotic ports of call.. for me? It keeps calling me.

-In love with old time sailing ships -- Okay, so this sort of goes with the Navy, but not quite. I never really used to have this love for old time sailing ships until I watched "Horatio Hornblower." The tall masts and billowing sails.. they're a reminder of a time gone past.. a time where clipper ships ruled the sea. There's just something majestic and captivating about them. Once you get drawn in.. it's easy to picture yourself dressed as an old time British sailor onboard the deck of a ship cutting through the ocean... the smell of salt water in the air.. the sun setting behind you as you sail off.

Things I am Not

-Afraid of Value City stalking me -- Okay, so this one is just too good to pass up. In mid May of 2001, I was up in Chicago helping my friend Alex drop off his clothes and stuff from his dorm room (the semester was over and it was the beginning of summer break) and then we where heading back to my house to grab some money, get my bags, get directions and head out to Ohio for a few days to visit two of our online friends. So, anyway, on the drive back down from Chicago to my house, we kept seeing Value City. It was -everywhere- it seemed. Anyway, to make this story short, we decided it was stalking us and kept making these crazy jokes about Value City.

-Fashion obsessed -- All right. This is a biggie with me. I could care less if I'm wearing the hottest hip hugging jeans or the newest 'in-style' lowcut, bellbearing shirt. Fashion is -not- anywhere near the top of any list of mine. I'm happy with a pair of raggedy old jeans and a beat up t-shirt. Short and simple.

My Anti-list

-Anti-holidays -- I hate holidays.. plain and simple. There's nothing in them for me, nor do I really care to celebrate them. I just look at them as another day.

-Anti-overexposure/overcommericialization -- Nothing irks me more than this. More and more things are being overexposed and/or overcommericialized. Especially holidays... the media also does a good job of doing this. Take the whole anthrax thing for example. I don't want to hear about it every waking hour the news is on. I'm sorry. Don't get me wrong.. but sometimes enough is enough. Sometimes, the media just doesn't know when to give things a rest. They try to make a mountain out of a molehill so to say.

Those I love

-Alex -- He's my soulmate (or so we agree) That all comes from sometime earlier in 2001. I was sitting on my computer chatting in the chat room we usually hang out in and I was eating those thin mint girl scout cookies. Well, suddenly he posts that he's eating girl scout thin mint cookies and I then said I was, too. I went even further and asked if he had those peanut butter ones, too, and he did. It was one of those weird things. So now we're soulmates. (Of course, he has this thing for Curt, but still.. and yes, he's gay.) Plus, he's one of the coolest guys I ever have met.

-Joey -- Joey's.. well, Joey. I just don't really know how to explain her. I'm completely head over heels in love with her. Okay, I admit it. I've never met her in person.. but still. I know she cares about me and she tries her hardest to cheer me up. She really worries. There's just nobody quite like her in the world. Yes, I know she's also dating a guy named Ray (yes, she never met him, either, yet) and I still have this thing for Chris (my army guy) and Ian (I'll never confess to him, either).. but still. It's Joey.

So, that's about it for me. I guess you learn something new every day, don't you?

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.

'til next time,

...Shining light into the darkness....
2:33 a.m. @ 2002-01-01

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare