Sara
Normandy
Tap
Jade
Sif
Laura
Kelly
Erin
i miss you.... - 2003-06-15
"Agreeance?" - 13 June 2003
death - 13 Jun
Yo - 2003-03-23
Hello? - 2002-12-17
Index
Older
Mission
Info
Email
Guestbook
Post-it
<< | >>
I tried to write this entry last night, but I was chatting with two people and talking on the phone. It didn't work. Now, I'm back to dazzle your minds!

OK, I've been thinking about cockiness versus modesty. I think I'm anti-modesty and pro-cockiness. Here's why:

Cockiness is all about self-confidence, right? (OK, some of you may argue that cockiness usually comes with a belief that you're better than others, but we're not focusing on that poin, so don't bring it up!) I wondered all day at work why people are threatened by someone who is very self-confident. I think it's about jealousy. Jealousy that this cocky person contains a self-worth you don't have. Jealousy that cocky person isn't covering you with compliments. It seems to be a human need to be complimented. If we're not constantly praised, we begin to feel bitter and unloved. Well, I'm all over that.

I think modesty is society's way of telling us not to love ourselves too much. I'm sure it was the Catholics who came up with the idea of not loving yourself. After all, it's supposed to be a sin, right? We should remain humble and give selflessy to those around us. We shouldn't believe too many good things about us, while continuing to give all our good things away to those arround us. Well, I'm all over that too.

I believe in self-love. I think it's possibly the root of happiness. Honestly, if you could get over all the crap your parents, the media, organized religion, teachers, friends, and society made you believe, you'd probably be a pretty well adjusted person. You'd start looking at you life and instead of saying, "How can I fix all that's wrong with me," say, "Damn! Look at the cool person I am!" I bet you'd more readily accept compliments. You'd probably work harder in general, just to keep the good things going. In fact, I'd wager that you'd treat the people around you better as well. After all, you wouldn't think anyone owed you a living, you wouldn't be fishing for compliments, you'd just be you. You'd be the new, lovin' yourself, preson who could spread all that love around.

What do you think?

My new motto is:
It's all about self-love, baby!

Previous mottos (still usin' 'em):
"It's all about unconditional love, live Aloha!"
"It's only life after all."

I should write a book.

-M

'til next time,

It's all about self-love, baby!
9:43 a.m. @ 2001-12-14

"But we in it shall be remember'd; we few, we happy few, we band of brothers ; for he today that sheds his blood with me shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile, this day shall gentle his condition: and gentlemen in England now a-bed shall think themselves accused they were not here, and hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks that fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day."

- William Shakespeare